ArAS Annual Prize for Young Astronomers (Yervant Terzian Prize)  

The ArAS Annual Prize for Young Astronomers was established in 2004 by one of its Co-Presidents Prof. Yervant Terzian (Cornell Univ., USA). The prize is being awarded to a young scientist under 35 working in astronomy or related field and showing significant results in research and/or other scientific activities connected anyhow with the Armenian astronomy.

Nominations may be made by ArAS members or any research organization from Armenia or elsewhere and should be sent to one of the ArAS Co-Presidents. They should include personal data for the nominee and a brief description of his/her achievements during the year, including important scientific results, all published papers, participation in meetings, given talks, etc., whatever is considered to be important.


The deadline for applications is December 1 each year. A special committee makes the selection and the results are being announced in the last issue of ArAS Newsletter at the end of each year. A diploma and sum of $500 are being awarded to the winner.


Since 2009 the Prize is named after Yervant Terzian.


ArAS Annual Prize Winners

2023                Arus HARUTYUNYAN

2022                Naira AZATYAN

2021                Gor MIKAYELYAN

2020                Hasmik ANDREASYAN and Gor MIKAYELYAN

2019                Naira AZATYAN

2018                Sona FARMANYAN

2017                Naira AZATYAN

2016                Anahit SAMSONYAN

2015                Artur HAKOBYAN

2014                Gurgen PARONYAN

2013                Hayk ABRAHAMYAN and Avet HARUTYUNYAN

2012                Vardan ADIBEKYAN

2011                Marine AVTANDILYAN

2010                Parandzem SINAMYAN

2009                Lusine SARGSYAN

2008                Vardan ADIBEKYAN and Artur HAKOBYAN

2007                Igor CHILINGARIAN

2006                Lilit HOVHANNISYAN and Parandzem SINAMYAN

2005                Artak HARUTYUNYAN and Elena HOVHANNESSIAN   (see photo)

2004                Lusine SARGSYAN