Observations with Large Telescopes

An International School for Young Astronomers, organized jointly by ESO and the Byurakan Observatory


September 22-28, 1987, Byurakan, Armenia



The school was organized under the aegis of the European Southern Observatory (ESO), Astronomical Council of the Academy of Sciences of the USSR and the Byurakan Observatory.


Scientific Organizing Committee (SOC): A.A. Boyarchuk (USSR, Chairman), V.L. Afanasiev (USSR), E.Ye. Khachikian (USSR), R. West (FRG), and L. Woltjer (FRG).


Local Organizing Committee (LOC):


Main topics:


24 foreign participants from 10 countries (FRG, Italy, Holland, Spain, France, Sweden, GDR, Poland, Bulgaria, and Czechoslovakia) attended the school.


The projects of future telescopes were presented in the lectures of soviet and foreign specialists. Special interest was aroused by the project of 4 telescopes with 8 m diameter each, worked out at ESO (later named Very Large Telescope VLT).


Altogether 12 lectures were presented at the school (M. Tharenghi, H.V. Abrahamian, V.L. Afanasiev, J.A. Stepanian, M. D'Odorico, S.N. Dodonov, T. Kipper, T.Yu. Magakian, A. Moorwood, N.V. Steshenko, L. Woltjer, V.A. Ambartsumian).


The school had an enormous significance as for the further development of the observational astronomy, as well as for preparation of scientific personnel. It favoured the establishment of fruitful contacts with leading foreign observatories.



List of the Lecturers and Lectures


Abrahamian H.V., Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

Afanasiev V.L., Special Astrophysical Observatory (SAO), USSR

Ambartsumian V.A., Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

Dodonov S.N., Special Astrophysical Observatory (SAO), USSR

D'Odorico M., ESO

Kipper T.,

Magakian T.Yu., Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

Moorwood A., ESO

Stepanian J.A., Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

Steshenko N.V., USSR

Tharenghi M., ESO

Woltjer L., ESO


List of the Students


Della Vale M., Italy

Hambaryan V.V., Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

Turatto M., Italy

Yeghiazaryan A.A., Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR