IAU Symposium #121: Observational Evidences of Activity in Galaxies


June 3-7, 1986, Byurakan, Armenia



The symposium was devoted to the 30th anniversary of working out of the idea of activity of galactic nuclei in the Byurakan Observatory.


60 foreign scientists from 16 countries (France, FRG, USA, UK, Mexico, Italy, Canada, GDR, Brazil, Bulgaria, India, Japan, Poland, Hungary, Netherlands, and S. Africa) and 53 scientists from different astronomical observatories and institutes of the Soviet Union participated. The scientists of the socialist countries participated in frame of the agreement on scientific exchange between the Academies of Sciences of socialist countries and Academy of Sciences of USSR.


Scientific Organizing Committee (SOC): V.A. Ambartsumian (USSR, chairman), R. Ekers (USA), J. Heidmann (France), E. Khachikian (USSR), H. Oleak (GDR), G. Perola (Italy), E. Preuss (FRG), V. Rubin (USA).


Local Organizing Committee: Edward Ye. Khachikian (Chair), Artashes R. Petrosian (Secretary).


Academician V.A. Ambartsumian was ill and couldn't be present, but his message was read out for the participants.


11 invited reviews, 23 oral and about 40 poster contributions were presented. Invited reviews had R.D. Cannon (UK), E.Ye. Khachikian (USSR), D.E. Osterbrock (USA), J.B. Hutchings (Canada), T.M. Heckman (USA), W.C. Keel (USA), A.S. Wilson (USA), K.I. Kellerman (USA), R. Terlevich (UK), J. Melnick (FRG), D. Alloin (France).


Scientific topics:


         Surveys of Active Galaxies and QSOs

         Galaxies with Ultraviolet Excess

         Seyfert Galaxies, QSOs and Lacertides, Radiogalaxies

         Intermediate Objects

         Active Galaxies with Complex Central Regions

         Galaxies with Narrow Emission Lines

         Superassociations and Active Star Forming Regions

         Interacting Galaxies


IAU Symposium 121 had an enormous significance for the confirmation of Byurakan ideas in the field of study of active galaxies, establishment and development of contacts with foreign scientists, leading authorities in the field of study of active galaxies.


Proceedings: Observational Evidence of Activity in Galaxies, Eds. E.Ye. Khachikian, K.J. Fricke, & J. Melnick, D. Reidel Publishing Company, Dordrecht, The Netherlands, 1987, 600 p. (in English).



Full List of Participants


T.A. Aghekian, Leningrad State University (LSU), USSR

F.A. Aharonian, Yerevan Physics Institute (YerPhI), USSR

D. Alloin, Meudon Observatory, France

D. Altschuler, Max-Planck Institute, FRG

V.A. Ambartsumian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

N.K. Andreasian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

R. Antonucci, Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI), USA

V.P. Arkhipova, Sternberg Astronomical Institute (GAISh), USSR

M.K. Babajanyants, Leningrad State University (LSU), USSR

N. Bartel, Cambridge, USA

N.G. Bochkarev, Sternberg Astronomical Institute (GAISh), USSR

T.M. Borchkadze, Abastumani Astrophysical Observatory (AbAO), USSR

A.N. Burenkov, Special Astrophysical Observatory (SAO), Zelenchuk, USSR

R.D. Canon, Royal Observatory, Edinburgh, UK

K.K. Chuvaev, Crimean Astrophysical Observatory (CrAO), USSR

E.K. Denisyuk, Alma-Ata Astronomical Institute, USSR

S.N. Dodonov, Special Astrophysical Observatory (SAO), Zelenchuk, USSR

V.T. Doroschenko, Sternberg Astronomical Institute (GAISh), USSR

D. Dultzin-Hacyan, UNAM, Mexico

J. Einasto, Tartu Observatory, USSR

M. Einasto, Tartu Observatory, USSR

L.K. Erastova, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

G. Erdos, Konkoly Observatory, Hungary

V.F. Esipov, Sternberg Astronomical Institute (GAISh), USSR

A.P. Fairall, Cape Town University, S. Africa

A.V. Filippenko, Berkeley, CA, USA

K. Fricke, Gottingen University, FRG

A.M. Fridman, Astronomical Council, USSR

I.M. Gioia, Cambridge, USA

G. Giuricin, Trieste Observatory, Italy

V.G. Gorbatsrij, Leningrad State University (LSU), USSR

L.I. Gurvitz, Space Research Institute (IKI), USSR

H.A. Harutyunian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

T. Heckman, University of Maryland, USA

J.B. Hutchings, Dominion Observatory, Canada

O.A. Jelezniak, Shemakha Observatory, USSR

M.M. Joeveer, Tartu Observatory, USSR

A.T. Kalloghlian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

R.A. Kandalyan, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

I.D. Karachentzev, Special Astrophysical Observatory (SAO), Zelenchuk, USSR

M.A. Kazarian, Yerevan State University (YSU), USSR

W.C. Keel, Leiden Observatory, Holland

K.I. Kellermann, NRAO, Green Bank, USA

E.Y. Khachikian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

P. Kiraly, Konkoly Observatory, Hungary

N.G. Kogoshvilli, Abastumani Astrophysical Observatory (AbAO), USSR

I.G. Kolesnik, Kiev, USSR

W. Kollatschny, Gottingen University, FRG

B.V. Komberg, Space Research Institute (IKI), USSR

J. Krempec-Krygier, Copernicus Center,Poland

O.M. Kurtanidze, Abastumani Astrophysical Observatory (AbAO), USSR

V.A. Lipovetski, Special Astrophysical Observatory (SAO), Zelenchuk, USSR

H. Lorenz, Potsdam-Babelsberg, GDR

T. Maccacaro, Cambridge, USA

F. Macchetto, Space Telescope Science Institute (STScI), USA

V.H. Malumian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

L. Maraschi, University of Milan, Italy

A.G. Massevich, Astronomical Council, USSR

L.I. Matveenko, Space Research Institute (IKI), USSR

J. Melnick, ESO, Garching, FRG

T.K. Menon, Vancouver, Canada

L.V. Mirzoyan, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

R.G. Mnatsakanian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

J. Mucket, Potsdam-Babelsberg, GDR

R.M. Muradian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

D. Nanni, Frascati, Italy

P. Notni, Potsdam-Babelsberg, GDR

P. Oleak, Potsdam-Babelsberg, GDR

D. Osterbrock, Lick Observatory, USA

M.G. Pastoriza, Porto Alegre, Brasil

I.I. Pauliny-Toth, Max-Planck Institute, FRG

G.C. Perola, Institute of Astronomy, Italy

B.M. Peterson, Ohio University, USA

A.R. Petrosian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

G. Petrov, National Astronomical Observatory, Bulgaria

O.V. Pickichian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

P. Pishmish, UNAM, Mexico

V. Popov, National Astronomical Observatory, Bulgaria

E. Preuss, Max-Planck Institute, FRG

I.I. Pronik, Crimean Astrophysical Observatory (CrAO), USSR

V.I. Pronik, Crimean Astrophysical Observatory (CrAO), USSR

V. Radhakrishnan, Bangalore, India

G. Richter, Potsdam-Babelsberg, DDR

E.I. Robson, Preston, UK

J.M. Rodriguez-Espinosa, ESO, Garching, FRG

V. Rubin, Carnegie Institute, Washington, DC, USA

B. Rudak, Copernicus Center, Poland

K.A. Sahakian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

E.M. Sadler, Kitt Peak National Observatory (KPNO), USA

V.A. Sanamian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

C. Schalinski, Max-Planck Institute, FRG

R.K. Shahbazian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

A.I. Shapovalova, Special Astrophysical Observatory (SAO), Zelenchuk, USSR

G. Stasinska, Meudon Observatory, France

J.A. Stepanian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

J. Stodolkiewicz, Copernicus Center,Poland

J. Sulentic, University of Alabama, USA

B. Takase, Tokyo Astronomical Observatory, Japan

R. Terlevich, Royal Greenwich Observatory, UK

V.S. Tamazian, Yerevan State University (YSU), USSR

H.M. Tovmassian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

D. Trevese, Rome Institute of Astronomy, Italy

Z.I. Tsvetanov, National Astronomical Observatory, Bulgaria

M. Turatto, Asiago Observatory, Italy

A.V. Tutukov, Astronomical Council, USSR

F. Vagnetti, Rome Institute of Astronomy, Italy

A. Vignato, Frascati, Italy

M. Ward, Cambridge, UK

A.S. Wilson, University of Maryland, USA

L. Woltjer, ESO, Garching, FRG

V.A. Yakovleva, Leningrad State University (LSU), USSR

H. Yee, Montreal University, Canada

A.A. Yegiazarian, Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR