International Symposium: Non-Stable Stars

Devoted to official inauguration of the Byurakan Observatory


September 20-22, 1956, Byurakan, Armenia



The conference was devoted to the official inauguration of the Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory as an independent institute of the Academy of Sciences of Armenian SSR.


The goal of the conference was to discuss the problem of non-stable stars, in particular T Tauri stars, and outline the way of its solution.


Scientific Organizing Committee (SOC):


Local Organizing Committee (LOC):


Scientific Topics:


Besides the Byurakan Observatory research workers, 30 astronomers from the USSR, USA, France, China, Mexico, and Yugoslavia took part in the conference. Famous scientists J. Greenstein and G. Herbig (USA), G. Haro (Mexico), E. Schatzman (France), V.V. Sobolev, B.V. Kukarkin, P.L. Kapitza, A.B. Severny, V.A. Dombrovsky, B.A. Vorontsov-Veliaminov, B.K. Ioannissian, and others were among them. Altogether 28 talks were given, including 8 by Byurakan astronomers.


Proceedings: The Non-Stable Stars, Proceedings of a Symposium held in Byurakan on September 20-22, Ed. M.A. Arakelian, Academy of Sciences of Armenian SSR, Yerevan 1957, 188 p. (in Russian).



Full List of Participants


Ambartsumian V.A., Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

Badalian H.S., Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

Dombrovsky V.A., Leningrad State University (LSU), USSR

Gorbatski V.G., Leningrad State University (LSU), USSR

Gordon I.M., USA

Greenstein J.L., USA

Gurzadyan G.A., Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

Haro G., Mexico

Herbig G., USA

Ioannissian B.K., Leningrad Optical-Mechanical Corporation (LOMO), USSR

?Ivanova N.L., Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

Joy A., USA

Kapitza P.L.,USSR

Khachikian E.Ye., Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

Kholopov P.N., USSR

Krat V.A., Principal Astronomical Observatory, Pulkovo, USSR

Kukarkin B.V., USSR

Markarian B.E., Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

Martinov D.Ya., USSR

Masevich A.G., Astronomical Council, Moscow, USSR

Melnikov O.A., Principal Astronomical Observatory, Pulkovo, USSR

Mirzoyan L.V., Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

Oskanian V.S., Belgrade Astronomical Observatory, Yugoslavia

Safronov V.S., USSR

?Sanamian V.A., Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory (BAO), USSR

Schatzman E., France

Severny A.B.,USSR

Sobolev V.V., Leningrad State University (LSU), USSR

Vorontsov-Veliaminov B.A., Moscow, USSR

Vsekhsvyatski S.K., Astronomical Observatory, Kiev University, USSR